SES Volunteers Association of Western Australia (Incorporated)

One Association - Many Values

Share on facebook
Share on twitter

21-06-2016 – Happy Birthday Northshore SES

Northshore 40th

On the 15th June 2016 the Northshore SES unit celebrated its 40th anniversary (42 years actually) with an unveilling of a new History Board and Honour Roll.   Special guests at this function included the Minister for Emergency Services, the Hon Joe Francis MLA, the Member For North Metropolitan Region Hon Elizabeth Behjat MLC, the Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson APM, and 6 Mayors from the 9 Local Government Areas that the unit serves.
Guests included past members, one of whom was Ian Lush who established the City of Perth SES unit in 1974. Ian stepped downs as Northshore Lm in 2007. The Perth unit merged with the City of Subiaco SES unit in 1996 to create Northshore. Alan Brindley, a Local Manager with the Subiaco SES in the early 1990s, also attended, along with a range of WA Police and DFES representatives. The other 3 units in the Northcoastal region were represented by their Managers, Bill Hansen, Nicola Wilson and Doug Cooper. The SESVA were represented by President Gordon Hall and Deputy President Dave Beard.
The Minister presented several Northshore members with service medals and medallions, including a clasp to Rhonda Hemsley for 35 years of service. The Fire Commissioner also presented Rhonda with a certificate of achievement for her massive contribution to the SES. Ex-Northshore LM Jim Maclean was acknowledged by the Fire Commissioner for the announcement of his being awarded the ESM.
The Northshore Local Manager, Nick Elliott, took the opportunity to thank each and every person that has had some involvement over the last 42 years in making the Northshore SES unit what it is today.
David Worth- SESVA Committee Member


Minister Hon Joe Francis MLA and Evan Morgan, who designed our new History Board


Share on facebook
Share on twitter