SES Volunteers Association of WA

One Association - Many Values

06/07/2015 – SES Awards Finalist Announced

State Emergency Service Awards finalists announced
Volunteers who have made an invaluable contribution assisting communities throughout Western Australia have been named as finalists in this year’s State Emergency Service (SES) Awards.   The 2015 finalists were nominated for a variety of reasons, including dedicating hundreds of hours responding to the Northcliffe bushfire in February 2015 and Tropical Cyclone Olwyn in March 2015, delivering high quality training to fellow SES members and showing outstanding leadership skills.    The awards recognise volunteers who have demonstrated excellence, dedication and innovation in their service to the SES and communities throughout the state. 

Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson said SES personnel are trusted and respected members of the community who give up their own time to help others in times of need.    “SES volunteers are there 24 hours a day, seven days a week,” Commissioner Gregson said.   “During an emergency, they are the ones leaving their homes and families to help the community when everyone else is safe inside and out of harm’s way.    “These dedicated men and women are to be commended for sacrificing their own time to help others in times of need.”    SES volunteers responded to more than 1400 requests for assistance across WA in the past year.

 The SES Awards are an opportunity to thank and recognise not just this year’s finalists but the more than 2000 SES volunteers who have assisted during storms, cyclones, searches and rescues in the last year.    The winners will be announced at the State Emergency Service Awards Ceremony on Saturday 19 September as part of the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Conference.

The 2015 State Emergency Service Awards finalists are:

Peter Keillor Award:

  • Jane Campbell – Bayswater SES Unit
  • James Hines – Northshore SES Unit
  • Robyn Trainor – Bridgetown SES Unit

Team Achievement Award:

  • Manjimup SES Unit

Youth Achievement Award:

  • Kirsten Beidatch – Mount Barker SES Unit
  • Kyle McGann – Karratha SES Unit

SESVA President Gordon Hall said ” on behalf of the SESVA I would like to congratulate the finialist for these prestigious awards and all other SES Volunteers who were nominated”.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter