04/07/2019 - SES Award Finalists

Finalists selected for annual SES awards

The 2019 State Emergency Service (SES) award finalists have been announced and the nominees highlight the outstanding contribution SES volunteers make to the community.This year’s finalists have been selected for going above and beyond the call of duty, demonstrating a high level of dedication to the service.  While we recognise these outstanding nominees, we also reflect on the commitment and sacrifice of over 2000 SES volunteers throughout the year.

The SES responded to over hundreds incidents across the State each year. The finalists represent a diverse range of SES units, showcasing the varied role the SES plays in the local community, from responding to storms in the metropolitan area to cliff rescues in the Pilbara.  This year a large number of nominations were received for the prestigious individual Peter Keillor award.  The number of nominees reflects the outstanding calibre of volunteers across the SES, with this once again being a tough year to select finalists.   The 2019 SES Awards winners will be announced at the 2019 at the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Conference.

The finalists are listed below.

 Peter Keillor Award

  • Leonie Briggs – Canine SES 
  • Simon Davidson – Tom Price SES 
  • Phillip Rance ESM – Mandurah SES

  Youth Achievement Award

  • Rebecca Burns – Mandurah SES 
  • Alexander Corinaldesi – Cockburn SES 
  • Daniel Lansom – Wanneroo-Joondalup SES
  • Kasey Steer – Exmouth SES 

 Team Achievement Award

  1. Canine SES
  2. Communications Support Unit 
  3. Peel/Harvey Recruitment Team

The SESVA congratulates all the finalists