Welcome to:

The SES Volunteers Association of Western Australia Incorporated (SESVA)

(The prescribed Association for SES Volunteers in WA)

"Volunteers don't get paid, not because they're worthless, but because they're priceless"

by Sherry Anderson



Welcome to the website of the State Emergency Service Volunteers Association of Western Australia Incorporated (SESVA).  The SESVA was formed in the late 1980’s with the objective of providing a focus for representing the views of SES Volunteers on issues which affect them.  The SESVA has developed the ability to strongly voice the opinion of the volunteers  where, when necessary, to the benefit of all the Volunteers of the SES, where the action of a single Volunteer or small group would not be as effective.  The SESVA represents SES volunteers on a number of committees and working groups and has regular meetings with DFES.


SESVA role is to represent the views of SES Volunteers to all levels of Government, DFES and other agencies on all matters affecting  SES volunteers and the way in which we serve our communities.

SESVA Committee of Management

There is a Committee of Management to control the Association.  The Management Committee consists of the following members:

Powers of the Management Committee

The Management Committee is the deliberative body in the Association with powers to make and direct policy, make, amend, or rescind the Constitution, and generally to take such actions as it considers necessary for the furtherance of the Association and its objects.  The general management of the affairs of the Association is vested in the Management Committee. 

Executive Council

"There shall be an Executive Council (Executive), consisting of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. The Executive shall take care of the day to day affairs of the Association, and may authorise payments on behalf of the Association only in accordance with the Business Rules of the Association."

SESVA Objectives & Current Activities

Current News

You can also view Archived News Items going back to 2010 and Archived Newsletters going back to 2017.


SES volunteers commended for dedication to community 

A Pilbara volunteer who led several volunteer search and rescue missions through the harsh terrain of Karijini National Park has been named one of three deserving recipients at the 2019 State Emergency Services Awards.  

At the 2019 State Emergency Service (SES) Awards ceremony in Perth last night, volunteers from across the State were acknowledged for their work on the frontline during emergencies, and maintaining the high standard of training and capability of the SES.

Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Darren Klemm AFSM commended those nominated on their commitment to go beyond the call of duty.

“SES volunteers are an irreplaceable part of WA’s frontline emergency services and our community as a whole,” Commissioner Klemm said.

“Over the past 12 months, SES volunteers have attended more than 750 incidents, spending roughly 23,000 hours helping communities across the State prepare and respond to cyclones, storms, land rescues, and other emergency situations.

“These awards are a reflection of our gratitude to not only the award recipients, but every volunteer in WA who dedicates their time towards making WA a safer State.”

Tom Price SES Rescue Team Leader Simon Davidson received the Peter Keillor Award, one of the highest individual State honours in the SES, in recognition of his outstanding leadership, displayed during complex and challenging situations in the harsh Pilbara climate.

The Youth Achievement Award went to Alex Corinaldesi from Cockburn SES, whose commitment and enthusiasm since joining the SES as a 16-year-old has earnt him the respect of his peers.

The Peel/Harvey SES Recruitment Team took out the Team Achievement Award for reversing a trend of declining volunteer numbers and recruiting 60 new members within 12 months.

The 2019 SES Awards recipients:

Peter Keillor Award

Simon Davidson – Tom Price SES 

Simon is Tom Price’s Rescue Team Leader and a key member of the SES unit. He has led teams through unique and technical operations, from recues in deep Pilbara gorges to extensive land searches in temperatures exceeding 45 degrees. Simon has invested a significant amount of time maintaining and upskilling the unit’s collective capability, which is particularly challenging given the transient nature of the Tom Price community. His passion and leadership extends beyond the unit itself – Simon frequently facilitates weekly training for SES cadets and plays a pivotal role in the cadet camp and other activities throughout the year.

Team Achievement Award 

Peel/Harvey Recruitment Team

If an effort to boost volunteer numbers in the region, three members from the Murray and Mandurah SES units formed the Peel/Harvey SES Recruitment Team to recruit new members. Developing a plan to engage the community and giving up an enormous amount of their own time, the team registered more than 60 new recruits across a wide variety of age groups in 12 months from the Mandurah, Pinjarra, Waroona and Harvey communities. They also provided induction training every two months and offered unit tours and displays for interested groups. 

Youth Achievement Award

Alex Corinaldesi, Cockburn SES 

After being a cadet for a number of years, Alex joined the SES in May 2012, at the age of 16. Since that time, he has taken on responsibilities far beyond what would be expected of someone his age. In 2018, he was appointed the unit’s Logistics Officer, and his performance in the role earned him the unit’s Drayton Award for Member of the Year. Alex goes above and beyond what is expected with his forethought and pre-planning, taking the initiative to proactively identify and complete tasks. His diligence as the unit’s Logistics Officer allows the teams within the unit to respond efficiently and safely, knowing that their equipment is in good order, their vehicles are stocked and ready to go, and everything has been done to ensure their safety.

SES Volunteers at AFAC19

A number of SES Volunteers attended AFAC in Melbourne during August.

Sarah Hamilton and Jane Hamilton attended and were able to see first hand a large range of emergency equipment. Their last day included a presentation about the Scout - SES badge, how it came about and where it is going. This presentation at DRANZSEN was well received by many people from the school education network.

The 2018 Peter Keillor Awardee (SES) Stephen Faulkner, attended all the events and was seen many times checking out the equipment in the trade display.

From the SESVA was President Gordon Hall ESM, Vice President David Worth, Secretary Lin Booth and Treasurer Robbie Palmer. This contingent was very busy attending the different sessions and supporting those presented by DFES staff or the NSESVA.

A presentation on “Women in the SES”, looking at the percentages of women and show casing some SES Volunteers and their great work across the country, was delivered by Dr Faye Bendrups, NSESVA Deputy Chair and Gordon Hall ESM, NSESVA Chair. Faye and Gordon finished the presentation by challenging the services to meet 40% of women by 2025. Their 40/40/20 rule meant 40% female, 40% male and the other 20% from any gender group or non-binary identification.


 Sarah Hamilton from the Belmont Victoria Park Unit  giving her presentation





What"s in this edition:

  • From the President
  • Trauma Bears
  • Name Badges
  • Duxton Forum Issues
  • Some Good News
  • trauma bears
  • Bike Search Team Uniforms
  • Operational Career Path for SES District Officers
  • and SES Volunteers
  • How to keep informed